Alex Recommends: Vitamin D

Today in our inaugural Alex Recommends feature, I am recommending Vitamin D!

Vitamin D

A few weeks ago, I went to my doctor complaining of aches and pains, and generally feeling icky. It had been going on for months, and was really dragging me down. I was surprised that one of the first things she said was, “you’re probably really low on Vitamin D.”

If you’d asked me before this week, I would have said 90% of the things people say about vitamins are bullshit. I really still think that. Except for this one. Actually, this attitude caused me to not take her advice, and I didn’t take any vitamins at all for the next three weeks until I went to see her again. At which point my lab results had come back and she said, “Oh, your Vitamin D is basically zero. Please take some.” So she actually prescribed Vitamin D for me (50,000 units, once a week!), and told me to also take the over the counter stuff from the organic part of the grocery store.

Guys – It’s been almost a week, and I feel like a new person. Seriously, I feel better than I can remember feeling in a really long time. I have more energy, less pain, and a better mood than I can ever remember having. It’s almost embarrassing how simple the solution was!

When you think about it, it makes sense – we law students don’t get outside much (I for one am always inside since I work full time and am also in school full time, so it’s often dark when I go to work and dark when I come home), and to top it all off I live in Seattle so there’s never any sun anyway. Actually, after I looked it up, I found that the Pacific Northwest has the highest incidence of multiple sclerosis (MS) of anywhere in the world. Some people think it’s because we’re all so low on Vitamin D.

I had no idea!

So today, I recommend to all of you law students: Get thee to a grocery store and add Vitamin D to your daily routine. I imagine that within 1 week you will find yourselves feeling much better, even if you didn’t know you were feeling bad. And how could you argue with something that can prevent MS, breast cancer, osteoporosis, and other nasties?? You can’t, that’s how.

And that’s it for today’s Alex Recommends. What will I recommend next? Stick around to find out!

2 Comments on “Alex Recommends: Vitamin D”

  1. humarashid says:

    Sold. There’s no way in the world I get enough Vitamin D since I quit milk a while ago on the suspicion of lactose intolerance. Turns out I’m even intolerant of lactose-free milk, so I figure I’m just a milk bigot in general, because I can’t handle the stuff at all. I’m going to stock up on Vitamin D post haste, since I feel pretty achey and icky most of the time, too. Thanks!

  2. Alx! says:

    Hooray! I hope it works – tell me how it goes 🙂


Leave a Reply

